Detroit Tigers News, Windsor Detroit Sports News


Detroit Lions vs Ravens By The Numbers..., Windsor Essex Cycling, SCOTT WILSON, Wheeler, Price, Faksa NHL Three Stars Week Dec 3, LIONS LOSS TO RAVENS, NHL Review Monday December 4, USA National Junior Team Roster, NHL Review Tuesday December 5, DETROIT TIGERS AGREE TO TERMS WITH LEONYS MARTIN, 2017 Team Canada National Junior Team Roster, Windsor Express Activate Chad Frazier and Robert Nortmann, NHL Review Wednesday December 6, RED WINGS BELL RINGING BRAGGING THIS FRIDAY, 2017 QUICK LANE BOWL TEAMS SET, CALDWELL and COOTER - STAFFORD or RUDOCK, NHL Review Thursday December 7, TIGERS AGREE TO TERMS WITH MIKE FIERS, WORLD SLEDGE HOCKEY CHALLENGE, NHL review Saturday December 9, JACK MORRIS ALAN TRAMMELL, DETROIT LIONS AT TAMPA BAY, NHL Review Sunday December 10 2017, Chris Chelios Named to IIHF Hall of Fame, Can-Am Police-Fire Games, NHL Review Monday December 11,Ontario Overhauling and Strengthening Conservation, NHL Review Tuesday December 12, TIGERS SELECT VICTOR REYES FROM ARIZONA DIAMONDBACKS, NHL Review Wednesday December 13, Ontario Legislation on Amateur Athlete Concussions, Caldwell Talks Saturday's Bears Game, DETROIT LIONS VS CHICAGO BEARS WEEK 15, SCHEDULE 2018 IIHF WORLD JUNIOR, Christmas Break Volleyball - St. Clair Men Busy, THE NHL 100 YEARS AGO TODAY, 2017 TEAM CANADA SPENGLER CUP ROSTER, 2017 TEAM CANADA SPENGLER CUP ROSTER, TEAM CANADA 2018 IIHF WORLD JUNIORS ROSTER, Charles Clark Square 2018 Skating Schedule, 22nd Annual Hockey for Hospice Tourny Biggest Yet, NHL Review Thursday December 21, CANADIAN OLYMPIC WOMEN’S HOCKEY, USA National Junior Team Roster, NHL Review Friday December 22, NHL Review Saturday December 23, NHL Review Saturday December 30 2017, IIHF World Juniors Team Canada December 30 Roundup,


Three-time 20-game winner Jack Morris and six-time All-Star shortstop Alan Trammell have been elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the Modern Baseball Era Committee.

Morris was named on 14 of 16 ballots (87.5 percent) while Trammell was named on 13 of 16 ballots (81.3 percent), with both clearing the 75-percent threshold necessary for election. The Modern Baseball Era Committee considered a ballot of nine former players and one former executive whose contributions to the game were most significant from 1970 to 1987. The Modern Baseball Era Committee held meetings today in Orlando, Fla., site of Baseball’s Winter Meetings. Both electees are living.

Morris and Trammell will be joined in the Hall of Fame Class of 2018 by any electees who emerge from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America voting, which will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 24.

Morris pitched 18 seasons for the Detroit Tigers, Twins, Blue Jays and Indians, winning 254 career games and earning five All-Star Game selections. He made 14 Opening Day starts and pitched for four World Series-winning teams, capturing the 1991 World Series MVP following 10 shutout innings in Game 7 for the Twins. Morris topped the 200-inning mark in 11 seasons and notched 175 complete games, the most of any pitcher whose career started after 1976.

“On behalf of the entire Detroit Tigers organization, it’s an honor to congratulate Alan Trammell and Jack Morris on their election to the National Baseball Hall of Fame. This announcement is truly a proud moment for all of us, and for the legions of Tigers fan who watched these all-time greats excel during their years wearing the Olde English ‘D’. Their achievements on the field, and character off, exemplify what’s best about the sport of baseball – and I’m thrilled the Modern Era Committee saw fit to enshrine Tram and Jack in Cooperstown. All of us with the Tigers are looking forward to August, when we will be honoring these legends by retiring their numbers at Comerica Park.” – Christopher Ilitch, President & CEO, Ilitch Holdings

Trammell spent his entire 20-year big league career with the Tigers, earning six All-Star Game selections, four Gold Glove Awards at shortstop and three Silver Slugger Awards. Trammell was named the 1984 World Series Most Valuable Player after leading Detroit to the championship with a .450 batting average over five games. He totaled 2,365 hits, 412 doubles and a .285 career batting average and hit .300-or-better in seven seasons.

The 16-member Modern Baseball Era Committee commissioned with the review of the 10-name ballot was comprised of Hall of Fame members George Brett, Rod Carew, Bobby Cox, Dennis Eckersley, John Schuerholz, Don Sutton, Dave Winfield and Robin Yount; major league executives Sandy Alderson, Paul Beeston, Bob Castellini, Bill DeWitt and David Glass; and veteran historians Bob Elliott, Steve Hirdt and Jayson Stark. Hall of Fame Chairman of the Board Jane Forbes Clark served as the non-voting chairman of the Modern Baseball Era Era Committee.

“I congratulate Alan Trammell and Jack Morris on their election to the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Playing for the Tigers was truly a privilege and to go into the Hall of Fame as a Tiger is a milestone that I am thrilled to now share with both of them. I am honored that they will join those who wear the Olde English ‘D’ in Cooperstown.” – Al Kaline, Baseball Hall of Famer/Tigers Outfielder 1953-1974

Results of the Modern Baseball Era Ballot (12 votes needed for election): Jack Morris (14 votes, 87.5%); Alan Trammell (13 votes, 81.3%); Ted Simmons (11 votes, 68.8%); Marvin Miller (7 votes, 43.8%); Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Don Mattingly, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker and Luis Tiant each received fewer than seven votes.

The Modern Baseball Era Committee will next consider candidates in 2019 for the 2020 Induction year, as the process to consider candidates occurs two times in a five-year period. In the fall of 2018, the Today’s Game Era Committee will consider candidates whose main career contributions came from 1988 to the present. In 2020, the Golden Days Era Committee will consider candidates whose main career contributions occurred from 1950-69. And also in 2020, the Early Days Era Committee will consider candidates whose greatest contributions came from baseball’s origins through 1949. Committees will continue to meet at the Winter Meetings.

The Modern Baseball Era ballot was determined this fall by the Historical Overview Committee, comprised of 11 veteran historians: Bob Elliott (Canadian Baseball Network); Jim Henneman (formerly Baltimore Sun); Steve Hirdt (Elias Sports Bureau); Rick Hummel (St. Louis Post-Dispatch); Bill Madden (formerly New York Daily News); Jack O’Connell (BBWAA); Jim Reeves (formerly Fort Worth Star-Telegram); Tracy Ringolsby(; Glenn Schwarz (formerly San Francisco Chronicle); Dave Van Dyck (formerly Chicago Tribune); and Mark Whicker (Southern California News Group).

Hall of Fame Weekend 2018 will be held July 27-30 in Cooperstown, N.Y., with the Induction Ceremony slated for Sunday, July 29, 2018. The BBWAA election results will be announced at 6 p.m. ET on Wednesday, Jan. 24, 2018.

Facebook Comments