Hockey Canada, Windsor Detroit Sports News


the Vollmer Complex, 2018-19 Rogers Hometown Hockey Tour Schedule, GoDaddy and Hockey Legend Doug Gilmour Partner in Online Venture, 18 PLAYERS NAMED TO CANADA’S 2018-19 NATIONAL PARA HOCKEY TEAM, 18 PLAYERS NAMED TO CANADA’S 2018-19 NATIONAL PARA HOCKEY TEAM, NHL Coaches' Association Honours Humboldt Broncos, Peche Island Boat Tour service, MAVERICKS WORKPLACE, NBA RULES CHANGES FOR 2018-19 SEASON, Mike Willms raising money for Downtown Windsor, SHEA WEBER NAMED CAPTAIN OF MONTREAL CANADIENS, WESPY, COLLEGE HOCKEY IN THE D SCHEDULE, 2019 MINOR LEAGUE CONTRACTS, CHIEFS-RAMS GAME TO MOVE FROM MEXICO CITY, National Basketball League of Canada Rules Changes for 2018-19, D’Amore Stepping Down as Lancer Football Head Coach, 2018 OFSAA Northern Bowl, 2018 QUICK LANE BOWL, Windsor Aquatic Centre, 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship Roster, Josh Brent, Player Safety

CALGARY, Alta. – Following the end of Canada’s National Para Hockey Team selection camp on Friday, Hockey Canada has selected 18 players to represent Canada through the 2018-19 season.

The roster includes nine players (Bridges, Cozzolino, Dunn, Gemmell, Hickey, Larocque, McGregor, Smith, Watson) who won a silver medal at the 2018 Paralympic Winter Games in PyeongChang, South Korea, and secured Canada’s best para hockey finish since 2006.

The 18 players named to Canada’s 2018-19 National Para Hockey Team include:

· Goaltenders Dominic Larocque (Quebec City) and Corbin Watson (Kingsville, Ont.)

· Defencemen Rod Crane (Clarksburg, Ont.), James Gemmell (Quesnell, B.C.), Liam Hickey (St. John’s, N.L.), Zach Lavin (Okotoks, Alta.) and Kevin Sorley (Petersburg, Ont.)

· Forwards Alexis Auclair (Saint-Hyacinthe, Que.), Billy Bridges (Summerside, P.E.I.), Dominic Cozzolino (Mississauga, Ont.), Cody Dolan (Calgary), James Dunn (Wallacetown, Ont.), Anton Jacobs-Webb (Gatineau, Que.), Micah Kovacevich (Edmonton), Antoine Lehoux (Thetford Mines, Que.), Tyler McGregor (Forest, Ont.), Garrett Riley (Brantford, Ont.) and Corbyn Smith (Monkton, Ont.)

“We were very excited about this group of players coming into camp as we had a good mix of veterans and prospects, and the level of competition throughout the week showed just how strong this year’s group was,” said head coach Ken Babey (Saskatoon, Sask.). “The amount of talent that was on display during our intrasquad games made for many difficult decisions, but we’re pleased with the group of players that have been selected to represent Canada. We know we have a very strong group with a great leadership core, and we believe these players will give us the best chance to win at all stages this season.”

Babey led the selection process for the 28 players invited to the camp, with assistance from Hockey Canada’s management group.

The 18 players chosen will continue to train and compete in international competitions, including the Canadian Tire Para Hockey Cup, Dec. 2-8 in London, Ont., as well as a cross-border series with the United States in March. The season will culminate at the IPC World Para Hockey Championship in Ostrava, Czech Republic in April.

Facebook Comments