NBLC, Windsor Detroit Sports News

NBLC Grants Teams One-Year Sabbatical

NBLC, NBL Canada

NBLC Grants Riptide & Highlanders One-Year Sabbatical

The National National Basketball League of Canada (NBLC) prepares to launch its 9th championship season.

As NBL Canada prepares for its 9th campaign, the league announces that it has granted the Saint John Riptide and Cape Breton Highlanders an immediate one-year sabbatical from the league as both organizations look to re-structure and improve their financial capacity with the intention of returning for the league’s 10th season in 2020-21.

Both organizations will take the winter to re-group and examine alternatives that will strengthen their financial situation to ensure that they can field a competitive product on the court.

In addition to granting the leave of absence, NBL Canada has granted both clubs a pathway for reinstatement for next season.

“The NBLC recognizes the positive contributions of the Saint John Riptide and Cape Breton Highlanders to the league over the past several seasons and will support their efforts in taking a season off to establish a solid structure going forward, ” – Audley Stephenson, Deputy Commissioner

The player rights who’s rights were protected by the Cape Breton Highlanders and Saint John Riptide will be released and they are to sign with any other team as a free agent.

Those players are the following:

Cape Breton Highlanders
Bruce Massey
Jamal Reynolds
Aaron Redpath
Sam Muldrow
Charles Strowbrige
Chris Johnson
Jabari Craig

Saint John Riptide
TJ Maston
Bryce Washington
Frank Bartley
Jeremiah Mordi
Kemy Osse
Marvin Binney
Randy Phillips

The teams participating in the upcoming season are the London Lightning, Windsor Express, KW Titans, Sudbury Five, Halifax Hurricanes, Moncton Magic, the Island Storm and St. John’s Edge.

Facebook Comments