NHL, Windsor Detroit Sports News

NHL Announces 2019-20 King Clancy Memorial Trophy

NHL, Atlantic Division, Wild Card, Eastern Conference, trade, Three stars, Stadium Series., Panthers, Centennial Classic, OUTDOOR GAMES, Western Conference,PRESIDENTS' TROPHY, Flyers,2016 Stanley Cup Playoffs First Round schedule,SEASON TROPHY WINNERS, CONFERENCE FINALS, STANLEY CUP FINALS SCHEDULE, SJ Sharks, JOONAS DONSKOI, MALKIN, SHARKS FORCE GAME 6, NHL Draft, NHL Free agency, nhl draft order,NHL Season Kicks Off Tonight, 2016-17 NHL season schedule all teams home and away. All times are Eastern Standard. 2016-17 NHL Season Schedule. Season Opener Wed Oct 12, 2016, NHL ALL-STAR ROSTERS, 2017 Stanley Cup Playoffs Schedule, Top 16 Greatest NHL Moments

NHL Announces 31 Team Nominees for 2019-20 King Clancy Memorial Trophy

The National Hockey League has announced the 31 team nominees for the 2019-20 King Clancy Memorial Trophy, which is presented “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

The nominees were selected by their respective NHL teams. The winner will be chosen by a committee of senior NHL executives led by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly. The selection committee will apply the following criteria in determining the finalists and winner:

  • Clear and measurable positive impact on the community
  • Investment of time and resources
  • Commitment to a particular cause or community
  • Commitment to the League’s community initiatives
  • Creativity of programming
  • Use of influence; engagement of others

The three finalists for the 2019-20 King Clancy Memorial Trophy will be announced in early August. The winner will be revealed during the 2020 Conference Finals, with the exact date, format and time to be determined.

The first-place finisher will receive a $25,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of his choice. The two runners-up each will receive a $5,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of their choice.

The King Clancy Memorial Trophy was presented in 1988 by the NHL’s Board of Governors in honor of Frank “King” Clancy, a beloved figure in the League for decades as a player, referee, coach, manager and goodwill ambassador. A three-time Stanley Cup champion and 1958 inductee to the Hockey Hall of Fame, Clancy was voted as one of the 100 Greatest NHL Players during the League’s Centennial Celebration in 2017.

The 2019-20 King Clancy Memorial Trophy nominees are:

  • Anaheim: Cam Fowler
  • Arizona: Oliver Ekman-Larsson
  • Boston: Patrice Bergeron
  • Buffalo: Jack Eichel
  • Calgary: Travis Hamonic
  • Carolina: Jordan Staal
  • Chicago: Jonathan Toews
  • Colorado: Gabriel Landeskog
  • Columbus: Cam Atkinson
  • Dallas: Tyler Seguin
  • Detroit: Justin Abdelkader
  • Edmonton: Leon Draisaitl
  • Florida: Sergei Bobrovsky
  • Los Angeles: Trevor Lewis
  • Minnesota: Matt Dumba
  • Montreal: Carey Price
  • Nashville: Pekka Rinne
  • New Jersey: P.K. Subban
  • NY Islanders: Matt Martin
  • NY Rangers: Henrik Lundqvist
  • Ottawa: Brady Tkachuk
  • Philadelphia: Kevin Hayes
  • Pittsburgh: Sidney Crosby
  • San Jose: Evander Kane
  • St. Louis: Ryan O’Reilly
  • Tampa Bay: Alex Killorn
  • Toronto: Mitchell Marner
  • Vancouver: Alexander Edler
  • Vegas: Marc-Andre Fleury
  • Washington: Garnet Hathaway
  • Winnipeg: Blake Wheeler

Facebook Comments