NHL, Windsor Detroit Sports News

Jim Johannson To Receive 2018 Lester Patrick Trophy

Jim Johannson To Receive 2018 Lester Patrick Trophy

The National Hockey League today announced Jim Johannson has been named the recipient of the 2018 Lester Patrick Trophy for outstanding service to hockey in the United States.

The annual award, one of the most prestigious in hockey, was presented to the National Hockey League by the New York Rangers in 1966. It honors the memory of Lester Patrick, who spent 50 years in hockey as a player, coach and general manager and was a pioneer in the sport’s development.

“The Lester Patrick Trophy is presented for ‘service to hockey in the United States.’ Jim Johannson’s entire playing career and professional life were dedicated to the game of hockey,” NHL Commissioner Gary Bettmansaid. “From his playing days at the University of Wisconsin and for U.S. National and Olympic Teams, through his two-decade career at USA Hockey, Jim worked tirelessly to grow our game at all levels in the United States.”

“His impact on our game was immense and improved the experience for Americans from the youth and recreational levels through the select elite chosen for National Teams. His selfless approach and delight in helping others shine made friends and admirers throughout the hockey community.”

Johannson, who passed away on Jan. 21, will be honored as part of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration on Wednesday, Dec. 12, in Nashville at the JW Marriott Hotel. The Lester Patrick Trophy will be presented to Johannson’s wife, Abby Johannson.

Playing college hockey at the University of Wisconsin from 1982-86 Johannson helped the Badgers capture the NCAA title as a freshman. He was selected by the Hartford Whalers in the 7th round (130th overall) of the 1982 NHL Draft and went on to play 374 games of professional hockey between 1987-94 in the International Hockey League where he registered 279 points, including 119 goals. He twice played for the U.S. in the Olympic Winter Games (1988, 1992) and was also a member of the U.S. Men’s National Team that participated in the 1992 IIHF Men’s World Championship.

In 2000, after spending five years (1995-2000) as the general manager of the Twin Cities Vulcans, a Junior A team in the United States Hockey League, Johannson joined USA Hockey as a manager of international activities and U.S. Olympic Committee Relations.

Johannson was promoted to senior director of hockey operations on Aug. 5, 2003, and on June 25, 2007, assumed the position of assistant executive director of hockey operations, where he oversaw all in-sport related initiatives, including USA Hockey’s efforts in putting teams on the field of play for international competition. 

Among the numerous accomplishments during his tenure, the most significant include U.S. teams capturing 64 medals in major international competition, including 34 gold, 19 silver and 11 bronze; the launching and implementation of the highly acclaimed American Development Model; and securing USA Hockey Arena in Plymouth, Michigan, as a home for all U.S. teams to utilize. 

In addition to honoring Johannson with the Lester Patrick Trophy, Red Berenson, Natalie Darwitz, Hago Harrington, David Poile and Paul Stewart will be inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame on Wednesday, Dec. 12th.

Past winners of the Lester Patrick Trophy include:

2017Peter Lindberg
Dave Ogrean
2016Mark Howe
Patrick J. Kelly
2015Jeremy Jacobs
Bob Crocker
2014Bill Daly
Paul Holmgren
2013Kevin Allen
2012Bob Chase-Wallenstein
Dick Patrick
2011Mark Johnson
Bob Pulford
Tony Rossi
Jeff Sauer
2010David Andrews 
Cam Neely 
Jack Parker 
Jerry York
2009Jim Devellano 
Mark Messier 
Mike Richter
2008Brian Burke 
Phil Housley 
Ted Lindsay 
Bob Naegele 
2007Brian Leetch 
Cammi Granato 
Stan Fischler 
John Halligan 
2006Red Berenson 
Marcel Dionne 
Reed Larson 
Glen Sonmor 
Steve Yzerman
2004John Davidson 
Mike Emrick 
Ray Miron
2003Raymond Bourque 
Ron DeGregorio 
Willie O’Ree
20021960 U.S. Olympic Ice Hockey Team 
Herb Brooks 
Larry Pleau
2001Gary Bettman 
Scotty Bowman 
David Poile
2000Mario Lemieux 
Craig Patrick 
Lou Vairo
19991998 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team 
Harry Sinden
1998Neal Broten 
Peter Karmanos 
John Mayasich 
Max McNab
1997Bill Cleary 
Seymour H. Knox III 
Pat LaFontaine
1996George Gund 
Ken Morrow 
Milt Schmidt
1995Brian Mullen 
Joe Mullen
1994Wayne Gretzky 
Robert Ridder
1993Frank Boucher 
Red Dutton 
Bruce McNall 
Gil Stein
1992Al Arbour 
Art Berglund 
Lou Lamoriello
1991Rod Gilbert 
Mike Ilitch
1990Len Ceglarski
1989Dan Kelly 
Lou Nanne 
Lynn Patrick 
Bud Poile
1988Keith Allen 
Fred Cusick 
Bob Johnson
1987Hobey Baker 
Frank Mathers
1986John MacInnes 
Jack Riley
1985Jack Butterfield 
Arthur M. Wirtz
1984Arthur Howie Ross 
John A. Ziegler Jr.
1983Bill Torrey
1982Emile P. Francis
1981Charles M. Schulz
19801980 U.S. Olympic Team 
Bobby Clarke 
Frederick A. Shero 
Edward M. Snider
1979Bobby Orr
1978Philip A. Esposito 
Tom Fitzgerald 
William T. Tutt 
William W. Wirtz
1977Murray A. Armb 
John P. Bucyk 
John Mariucci
1976George A. Leader 
Stanley Mikita 
Bruce A. Norris
1975William L. Chadwick 
Donald M. Clark 
Thomas N. Ivan
1974Weston W. Adams Sr. 
Charles L. Crovat 
Alex Delvecchio 
Murray Murdoch
1973Walter L. Bush
1972Clarence S. Campbell 
John Kelly 
James D. Norris 
Ralph Cooney Weiland
1971William M. Jennings 
Terrance G. Sawchuk 
John B. Sollenberger
1970James C.V. Hendy 
Edward W. Shore
1969Robert M. Hull 
Edward J. Jeremiah
1968Walter A. Brown 
Gen. John R. Kilpatrick 
Thomas F. Lockhart
1967Charles F. Adams 
Gordon Howe 
James Norris Sr.
1966J.J. Jack Adams

Facebook Comments