NHL, Windsor Detroit Sports News

NHL November 25 2019 Recap

NHL November 25 2019 Recap

Rangers goaltender Henrik Lundqvist made 26 saves to earn his 455th career regular-season win and pass Curtis Joseph (454) for sole possession of fifth place on the NHL’s all-time list.

Lundqvist appeared in his 871st career regular-season game – the 10th-highest total by a goaltender in NHL history and the sixth-most by any player in Rangers annals behind Harry Howell (1,160), Brian Leetch (1,129), Rod Gilbert (1,065), Ron Greschner (981) and Walt Tkaczuk (945).

Of the four goaltenders ahead of Lundqvist on the all-time wins list, only two had more victories through their 871st career regular-season game: Martin Brodeur (483) and Patrick Roy (464). Roberto Luongo owned 404 regular-season wins through his 871st career appearance, while Ed Belfour had 443.


Alexander Radulov (2-1—3), John Klingberg (0-3—3) and Tyler Seguin (0-2—2) each found the score sheet multiple times to help the Stars extend their point streak to 12 games (11-0-1), including wins in each of their last seven contests. Dallas matched its franchise record for longest win streak last achieved almost 12 years ago from Jan. 29 – Feb. 11, 2008.

The Stars’ point streak is tied for their fourth-longest in franchise history, behind a 15-game run from Dec. 6, 1998 – Jan. 6, 1999 (12-0-3) as well as two separate stretches of 13 contests from March 8 – April 3, 2000 (7-0-6) and March 13 – April 7, 2001 (10-0-3).

Dallas swept its four-game homestand, outscoring opponents 17-7 in those contests (including one shootout-deciding goal). The Stars swept a homestand of four or more games for the third time in franchise history and first since the club began play in Texas.


John Gibson turned aside all 26 shots he faced – including 16 in the first period – as the Ducks snapped the Islanders’ franchise-record point streak at 17 games (15-0-2).

Anaheim snapped an opponent’s point streak of 17 or more games for the second time in franchise history. The first instance occurred on Jan. 30, 2018 when they earned a 3-1 win to end the Bruins’ 18-game run (14-0-4).

Gibson became the fourth goaltender in franchise history to blank the Islanders, joining Ron Tugnutt (Dec. 28, 1993), Jean-Sebastien Giguere (Feb. 5, 2008) and Curtis McElhinney (Nov. 10, 2010).

The Kings overcame a 3-0 deficit in regulation, but Patrick Marleau scored the overtime winner as the Sharks improved to 9-1-0 in their last 10 games. Marleau became the first player age 40 or older to score an overtime goal since 42-year-old Jaromir Jagr did so on Oct. 25, 2014 (w/ NJD).

Marleau scored his 107th career game-winning goal in the regular season and moved within one of Capitals captain Alex Ovechkin (108) for seventh place on the League’s all-time list. He recorded his 99th career game-winning goal with the Sharks to move past Bobby Hull (98 w/ CHI) for sole possession of the third-most in NHL history by a player with one franchise, trailing only Gordie Howe (121 w/ DET) and Ovechkin.


The Penguins and Flyers each secured wins to continue recent strings of success on home ice:

Jake Guentzel notched the overtime winner as Pittsburgh improved to 5-0-2 in its last seven games at PPG Paints Arena. Guentzel, who scored the decisive marker in the Penguins’ last outing (Nov. 22 vs. NJD), recorded a winning goal in consecutive team games for the fourth time in his NHL career – with two of the three previous instances occurring as a rookie during the 2017 Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Sean Couturier and Jakub Voracek each registered 1-1—2 as Philadelphia extended its home point streak to nine contests (5-0-4), their longest since a 10-game run from Nov. 9, 2013 – Jan. 8, 2014 (10-0-0). The Flyers improved to 7-1-4 (18 points) at Wells Fargo Center in 2019-20, marking the seventh season in which they had one regulation loss or less through 12 home games and first since 2005-06 (9-1-2, 20 points).

Rangers forward Artemi Panarin (0-3—3) extended his home point streak to nine games (5-10—15) and has recorded multiple points in eight of his last 10 outings overall (6-12—18). He became the first Rangers player to collect multiple points eight times in a span of 10 team games since fellow countryman Pavel Bure did so from March 21 – April 10, 2002 (11-8—19).

Sharks captain Logan Couture (0-1—1) extended his point streak to seven games (3-8—11). Couture moved within two contests of matching his career high for longest point streak, a mark set from Oct. 14 – Nov. 3, 2018 (5-9—14 in 9 GP).

Blue Jackets defenseman Zach Werenski (0-1—1) extended his career-high point streak to seven games (3-6—9) and matched the franchise record for longest by a blueliner, held by Jaroslav Spacek from Jan. 10-22, 2003 (1-7—8) and Bryan Berard from Oct. 24 – Nov. 4, 2005 (1-6—7).

Sabres captain Jack Eichel (0-1—1) extended his scoring streak to six outings (6-6—12) and boosted his team-leading point total to 30 (14-16—30 in 24 GP). He became the first Sabres player to reach the 30-point mark in 24 or fewer games since Thomas Vanek in 2012-13 (14-16—30 in 24 GP).


Six teams are in action on the 102nd anniversary of the League’s founding, including an all-Original Six matchup between the Bruins and Canadiens at Bell Centre in Montreal – approximately 600 meters from the Windsor Hotel where the NHL was officially formed on Nov. 26, 1917.

The NHL was founded following three days of meetings involving owners from the National Hockey Association – which suspended operations after one of its six teams, the Toronto 228th Battalion, had been called to fight in World War I during the 1916-17 season. As noted in the hand-written meeting minutes (pictured below), the owners decided “that the Canadiens, Wanderers, Ottawa and Quebec Hockey Clubs unite to comprise the National Hockey League.”

Quebec’s entry into the NHL was delayed until 1919-20, but Toronto was granted a franchise and the League began with four clubs – the Montreal Canadiens, Montreal Wanderers, Ottawa Senators and Toronto Arenas.

Frank Calder was elected president of the NHL, which set forth with a 48-game schedule, with the first contests slated for Dec. 19, 1917. The League champion would earn the right to play the winner of the Pacific Coast Hockey Association for the Stanley Cup.

The Wanderers played only four games before a fire destroyed their arena, causing them to forfeit two contests and eventually withdraw from play, leaving the Canadiens, Senators and Arenas to compete for the League’s inaugural title in a condensed 24-game schedule. The Arenas emerged and defeated the PCHA’s Vancouver Millionaires to become the first NHL team to win the Stanley Cup.

Facebook Comments