St. Clair College Selected as 2024 National Cross-Country Running Championship Host

The St. Clair College Saints will be fighting for nationwide supremacy on their home course having recently been named host of the 2024 Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Cross-Country Running National Championships that will be staged next fall on November 9th

The Saints were fortunate to stage the event in 2003 which was only the second year of existence for the CCAA National Cross-Country Championship.  Both the Women’s 6 km and Men’s 8 km races will take place at Malden Park which has played host to every major local event in cross country at all levels.

“St. Clair hosted a spectacular provincial championship in 2019 and we know that the Saints Athletics department will put on an excellent CCAA Championships event,” said Darcy Brioux, CCAA Cross-Country Running Convenor.  “We are all excited to be returning to Ontario once again for some wonderful hospitality in the Windsor area.”

The last three CCAA Cross-Country Running National Championships have been hosted by the Alberta Colleges Athletic Association (ACAC) but Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec (RSEQ), Atlantic Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA), Pacific Western Athletic Association (PACWEST) along with the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) will all be vying for qualification at their respective conference provincial championships. 

Saints Head Coach Paul Boots was delighted with the news saying, “Our coaching staff is excited to be hosting such a prestigious event.  St. Clair always puts on a top-notch championship, and I am certain this will be no exception.”

The Saints will also draw on the experience of having qualified for and participated in each CCAA Cross-Country Running National Championship since 2011.

St. Clair runners have enjoyed recent success at the national level, particularly in the Men’s Team event with a gold medal in 2018, silver in 2019 and bronze medals in 2021 and 2022.  Individual Men’s medals include gold in 2012 (Andrew deGroot), silver in 2019 (Carter Free) and bronze in 2007 (Martin Labute).  The St. Clair Women’s team last medaled in 2013 with a bronze.

Facebook Comments