Stanley Cup Playoffs Review – September 11, 2020

Stanley Cup Playoffs Review – September 11, 2020


The Golden Knights scored a pair of tying goals in the third period to send Game 3 of the Western Conference Final to overtime, but Alexander Radulov tallied just 31 seconds into the extra frame as the Stars took a 2-1 series lead.

* Radulov became the third Stars/North Stars player to score an overtime goal in a Conference Finals contest (since 1982), joining Jamie Langenbrunner in Game 5 of the 1998 Western Conference Final (3-2 OT W vs. DET) and Joe Nieuwendyk in Game 5 of the 2000 Western Conference Final (3-2 OT W vs. COL). Minnesota also earned one win in a Semifinals contest that required overtime, which was in 1968 when Parker MacDonald scored the winner in Game 2 (3-2 OT W vs. STL).

* Radulov scored the second-fastest goal from the start of a postseason overtime period in a Conference Finals contest, behind only the mark of 24 seconds set by Avalanche captain Joe Sakic in series-clinching fashion during Game 5 of the 2001 Western Conference Final (2-1 OT W vs. STL). Langenbrunner’s winner detailed above was scored 46 seconds into overtime, which marks the fifth-fastest goal on the list below.

* Radulov scored the second-fastest goal from the start of an overtime period of any postseason contest in franchise history, behind only the mark of 22 seconds set by Minnesota’s Steve Payne in Game 1 of the 1981 Quarterfinals (4-3 OT W at BUF).

* The Stars improved to 4-0 this postseason in games that have required overtime, which includes a 2-1 shootout win over the Blues in round-robin play. Dallas matched its franchise record for most overtime wins in a playoff year, a mark set in 1999 when they won their first-ever Stanley Cup.

Golden Knights defenseman Shea Theodore scored his seventh goal this postseason (7-11—18 in 18 GP) to move into a tie with Victor Hedman of the Lightning (7-6—13 in 15 GP) for the League lead among blueliners.

* The 2020 postseason marks the second playoff year in NHL history to feature multiple defensemen each with seven or more goals. The first instance was in 1983, when Ray Bourque of the Bruins (8-15—23 in 17 GP), Denis Potvin of the Islanders (8-12—20 in 20 GP) and Paul Coffey of the Oilers (7-7—14 in 16 GP) combined for the feat.

The Lightning and Islanders square off in Game 3 of the Eastern Conference Final, with Tampa Bay vying to take a 3-0 lead series lead and New York looking to rebound and cut its deficit to 2-1. Since the conference format was adopted ahead of the 1981-82 season, teams that take a 3-0 lead in the Conference Finals own an all-time series record of 19-0.

* The Lightning are 6-0 in their last six contests dating to Game 2 of the Second Round, outscoring opponents by a combined 27-10 margin over that. Tampa Bay can earn seven consecutive wins in a playoff year for the third time in franchise history, following eight-game runs in both 2004 and 2011. Andrei Vasilevskiy has backstopped the Lightning to victory in each of their last six contests, posting a 1.51 goals-against average and .944 save percentage over that span.

* Tampa Bay defenseman Victor Hedman has tallied in each of his last four games (4-3—7) and co-leads all blueliners with seven goals this postseason overall (7-6—13 in 15 GP). There have been only eight instances in NHL history of a defenseman scoring eight or more goals in a playoff year, last achieved by Rangers blueliner Brian Leetch in 1994 (11-23—34 in 23 GP) en route to a Stanley Cup championship and Conn Smythe Trophy honors.

* Islanders forward Anthony Beauvillier leads the team with eight goals this postseason (8-4—12 in 18 GP). He needs two to become the eighth different player in franchise history with a double-digit total in a playoff year, a feat last accomplished by Ray Ferraro in 1993 (13-7—20 in 18 GP).

* Islanders head coach Barry Trotz has guided a team to a series win after dropping each of the first two games on one prior occasion, which occurred in the 2018 First Round when the Capitals reeled off four consecutive victories to rally past the Blue Jackets. Washington would go on to win its first Stanley Cup in franchise history, which included a seven-game triumph over Tampa Bay in the Eastern Conference Final.

Flyers’ Sean Couturier Wins Frank J. Selke Trophy

Sean Couturier of the Philadelphia Flyers is the 2019-20 recipient of the Frank J. Selke Trophy, recognizing “the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game,” as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Couturier was named on 163 of the 170 ballots, including 117 first-place selections, for 1,424 voting points, ahead of second-place Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins, a Selke finalist for an unprecedented ninth consecutive year and with a record-tying four Selke wins. Bergeron received 21 first-place votes in accumulating 884 points. Ryan O’Reilly of the St. Louis Blues, the 2018-19 Selke Trophy winner, finished third in voting with 816 points (11 first-place selections).

Couturier (22-37—59 in 69 GP) paced the NHL by winning 59.6 percent of his face-offs (542-for-909). Only one player in Flyers history has recorded a higher single-season total (since the statistic began being tracked in 1997-98, minimum: 500 FO): Eric Lindros in both 1997-98 (60.1%) and 1998-99 (60.0%). Couturier was consistent throughout the ice, winning 59.5 percent of his face-offs in the defensive zone, 60.4 percent in the neutral zone and 59.1 percent in the offensive zone – no other NHL player topped 58 percent in all three zones. Couturier also led all Philadelphia skaters with a +21 rating while pacing team forwards in both total time on ice (1,368:23) and shorthanded time on ice (140:29).

The 27-year-old center – who finished second in Selke Trophy balloting in 2017-18 – is the third player to win the award with the Flyers, following Bobby Clarke (1982-83) and Dave Poulin (1986-87).


Facebook Comments