University of Windsor, Windsor Detroit Sports News

U of W Athletics 2018-19 Major Award Nominees Announced

Windsor Lancers Athletics logo

University of Windsor Department of Athletics Announces 2018-19 Major Award Nominees

The Department of Athletics and Recreational Services announced their major award nominees for the 2018-19 Windsor Lancers Evening of Excellence.

The winners will be announced at the Lancers’ annual awards banquet which will take place on Tuesday April 2, 2019 at the St. Clair Centre for the Arts.

The nominees for University of Windsor female rookie of the year are Mandy Brunet from track & field, Ally Winik from women’s volleyball, and Jessica Gribbon from women’s hockey.

On the men’s side, rookie of the year nominees includes Cole Verlinde from football, Thomas Kennedy from men’s basketball, and John Wesley from men’s hockey.

The super sophomore awards are presented to the outstanding second year female and male athletes. The female nominees are Samantha Gucciardi from women’s basketball, Brooke Davis from women’s volleyball, and Melanie Burgess from Lancer Golf.

The male super sophomore nominees are Daniel Stirling from football, Tanner Page from men’s soccer, and Anthony Atkinson from track & field.

The Captain’s Trophy is presented to the male and female captains who demonstrate outstanding leadership both on and off the field while also making a significant contribution to the overall success of the team.

Female nominees include Rachel Chantler from women’s hockey, Lexi Pollard from women’s volleyball, and Keely Baggio from women’s soccer. Male nominees include John Moate from men’s volleyball, Anthony Pollock from men’s soccer, and Kyle Haas from men’s hockey.

The IG Champions Cup is a department trophy that’s awarded each year to the men’s and women’s Lancer varsity team that best exemplifies what it takes to be a champion in the classroom, on the playing field and throughout the community. The finalists for the IG Cup are women’s hockey, women’s basketball, and Lancer golf.

The Eddi Chittaro Assistant Coach of the Year will be presented for the first time this year. The nominees are Tom Foster from women’s basketball, Tina Sharmen from track & field, Andrew Foster from women’s volleyball, and Will Alexander from men’s volleyball.

The Gino Fracas Coach of the Year category has four outstanding nominees this year. They include James Gravelle from men’s volleyball, Adam Wagner from Lancer Golf, Lucas Hodgson from women’s volleyball, and Emma Duinker from women’s basketball.

The prestigious DeMarco Awards are presented yearly to the top female and male student-athletes who best combine academics and athletics. The female nominees include Melanie Burgess from Lancer Golf, Ashley Maitre from women’s hockey, and Alana Gyemi from women’s volleyball.

The male nominees for the DeMarco Award include Brad Gyemi from men’s volleyball, Sam Girard from football, and Bryce Phillips from men’s soccer.

The Banner Shield is presented annually to the University of Windsor’s outstanding female athlete of the year.

This year’s three nominees for the Banner Shield include Carly Steer from women’s basketball, Mandy Brunet from track & field, and Brooke Davis from women’s volleyball.

The Olympic Shield is presented annually to the University of Windsor’s outstanding male athlete of the year.

The nominees for the Olympic Shield as University of Windsor male athlete of the year are John Moate from men’s volleyball, Pierce Johnson from men’s volleyball, and Daniel Metcalfe from football.

The award winners will be announced this Tuesday, April 2nd at the St. Clair Centre for the Arts as part of the Windsor Lancers 2018-19 Evening of Excellence.

Facebook Comments